Alison

Volunteer Spotlight

Alison Volunteer SpotlightAlison

Alison recently became the Shop Manager at our Acocks Green branch! Just goes to show the job skills and opportunities here at Oxfam!

When did you start volunteering at Oxfam Birmingham?
I started volunteering at Oxfam in September this year after coming into the shop and having a chat with Ladi, the manager.

Why did you start volunteering at Oxfam?
I wanted to build up skills after a long period of unemployment for health reasons and felt volunteering would be a great, mutually-beneficial way to do so. When I spotted the shop I knew it was ideal for me as both a charity I believe in and a bookstore, which suits a bookworm like me down to the ground.

What’s your favourite book?
A couple of my all-time favourites are Roald Dahl’s “Matilda” and Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”, which I collect different editions of. More recently I fell in love with “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak but I have varied tastes and like to try new genres.

Alison, can you tell us a little about yourself?
I was born and raised in Lincolnshire with my parents and two older sisters. I moved down to Birmingham in 2002 after finishing my GCSEs to live with my now-husband, Chris. I love to read and frequently worry that I may one day be buried under a pile of my unread books. I have recently signed up to study English Language and Literature via the Open University next year to eventually gain a BA Honours degree. I’m impatient to get started!

Leave a Reply

